the iBOL Consortium

we are a research alliance
connecting scientists and society to biodiversity


Member nations are networks of researchers and organizations in a country that are engaged in or supporting DNA barcoding as part of iBOL. They are composed of leading researchers and representatives of the key organizations supporting the discovery and protection of national biodiversity.

The iBOL consortium has 35 member and 8 associate member nations

The iBOL Consortium has 35 member and 8 associate member nations

Member Nations

Argentina Museo Argentino de Ciencias Naturales
Armenia Yerevan State University
Australia South Australian Museum
Austria Natural History Museum Vienna
Belarus Scientific and Practical Center of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus for Bioresources
Brazil Instituto Federal de Educação, Ciência e Tecnologia
Canada Centre for Biodiversity Genomics
China Kunming Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Colombia Alexander von Humboldt Institute
Costa Rica Consejo Nacional de Gestion de la Biodiversidad
Egypt Nature and Science Foundation
Equador Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad
Finland University of Oulu
France National Museum of Natural History
Georgia Ilia State university
Germany Bavarian State Collection of Zoology
India Zoological Survey of India
Lebanon Universite Saint-Joseph
Mexico El Colegio de la Frontera Sud
Netherlands Naturalis Biodiversity Center
New Zealand Cawthron Institute
Norway Norwegian Barcode of Life Network
Pakistan Balochistan University of Information Technology, Engineering & Management Sciences
Peru Peruvian Barcode of Life Network
Philippines University of Philippines Diliman
Poland University of Lodz
Portugal University of Minho
Romania Babes-Bolyai University
Slovakia Slovak National Museum – Nature History Museum
South Africa University of Johannesburg
Switzerland University of Geneva
Thailand Chulalongkorn University
Turkey University of Ankara
United Kingdom Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh
USA National Museum of Natural History

Associate Member Nations

Azerbaijan Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences
Bulgaria National Museum of Natural History
Ghana University of Ghana
Honduras Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras – Valle de Sula
Kenya National Museums of Kenya
Nepal Agriculture and Forestry University
Papua New Guinea New Guinea Binatang Research Centre
Vietnam Vietnam National University of Forestry


Established in 2008, the Board for iBOL functions in a strategic capacity, reviewing research progress and providing suggestions on how to accelerate it. In addition, a Science Committee comprised of one researcher from each participating nation aids in the design and implementation of research activities.

Board of Directors

Throughout its first five years, iBOL’s Board of Directors was composed of representatives from funding agencies involved in supporting the consortium. To strengthen its connection with the organizations best positioned to enable the research objectives, iBOL’s Board was subsequently restructured, now comprised of senior representatives from major iBOL institutions. iBOL’s Board functions in a strategic capacity, reviewing research progress and providing suggestions on how to accelerate it.

Science Committee

The Science Committee (SC) is comprised of one researcher from each participating member nation. They aid in the design and implementation of research activities including those related to DNA barcoding applications, bio-surveillance, and reference library building. Although the SC is primarily focused on coordinating research activities, it is also responsible for selecting the location for the biennial International Barcode of Life conference.


what is iBOL?


download pdf

© Copyright 2021 International Barcode of Life Consortium. All Rights Reserved.

Share This